Home » Me » Going bare.

Going bare.

I have two lovely little girls.  I am and always have been a tomboy.  This was obviously always going to give me conflicting feelings.

image

You know as a parent you want to be open so that you don’t project too much onto your children, you want as much as possible to provide a safe and secure environment to allow them to flourish.

PINK. PINK. PINK. No matter what I tell people (I flippin’ hate pink in case that wasn’t obvious) I still get bombarded with it, thankfully no one has bought one of them a tutu yet.  I know I shouldn’t be quite so ‘rahhhh’ about it, but its hard.  The media today aswell as the shops seem to force our girls to be grown up so much quicker…the make up, the clothes the ridiculous cartoons and stories where all the female protagonists are bloody fairies, movie stars and other useless or whimsical characters.

I am, for the first time in a very very long time going bare on my toe nails this summer because my little Bean is noticing and then copying everything I do, and I am not ready for her two year old toes to be varnished, Just no. I have to fight to get her into a dress, I did it once and she hated it so I won’t be doing it again…am I secretly pleased that she hates dresses and pink? Yes, no doubt about it, I love the fact that she loves to play in the mud, outside digging about to find Mummy worms.  And as for Bites, she’s still letting us know what she’s all about but I will say this – she is already pretty feisty!

Am I dreading the inevitable ‘Princess’ stage? Hell yes. Will I deny either of them a poxy princess dress if that is what they want and it puts a smile on their lovely faces? No. Of course not.  All we can do for our daughters is be strong female role models and make sure they know there is more to it all than being pretty.  Every night at bedtime I tell my babies that they are Funny, Clever, Beautiful and Special, I hope this sinks in and helps them remain confident in themselves as they get older.  Having these two young minds makes you suddenly much more aware of how you behave, I am starting to have a much healthier body image of myself because I don’t want them to grow up with body issues, I firmly believe that me being confident in myself will help them – I never once as a child remember my Mum ever moaning about her bum or worrying about chipping nail varnish or even putting make up on, she was ALWAYS jumping right in ready to have fun at a moments notice whether that was going on an epic bike ride or playing football and do you know what?  She is still running about like a loon now, my nephews actually said to her “Your not like our other nanny, she’s old. Your not, your fun”
And that is how I want my girls to see me, and behave.  They have the rest of their lives to worry about hair and make up and all that goes with it, please please just be girls for a little bit longer.

COWS

Bean, Jojo minutes old, My Mum, Nan and Bites, Bean and her friend, My Mum assisting in the delivery of JoJo (!) and Bean

Inspired by a post on Katy Hill’s new blog…and yes I was inspired by her fearless-ness in her Blue Peter days 🙂

 

One thought on “Going bare.

  1. Pingback: The week that was instagrammed : Week 5 | orangemush

Go on tell me what you're thinking...

