Home » Ramblings » Mummy Wafflings » Painful. (in more ways than one)

Painful. (in more ways than one)

Friday marked the last day of breastfeeding for me.  As last time it is bittersweet, I know the reasons I decided to stop and I know it is the right decision, my little Bites is still her happy little self.  Me on the other hand I am walking around looking like Dolly Parton and in a lot of pain with my giant rock hard full up boobs. Sigh.

I cried, I’ll admit it Friday night I lay in bed whilst my hubby sat beside me giving Bites her 11ish feed, that was it, I knew there would be no more chest dives and wood peckering at my boobs if I was a bit slow and I was so so sad.  I have been very lucky with my breastfeeding experiences second time round I avoided cracked nipples and it was all plain sailing, she was a very efficient girl from the start the only thing that she took her time with was latching which meant a lot of milk getting sprayed in her face 😉

Sad also because in all likelyness it’s something I won’t be experiencing again, she was my last baby and I am proud to say I sustained her for 6 months, some might say too long others not enough.  But that’s the thing with breastfeeding isn’t it, everyone and their Uncle has an opinion and no one is shy about giving it…whether you asked or not.  I really wish people (NHS that’s you) would give the HONEST information, I still maintain that’s why so many of us backdown early.  That and the conflicting advice you get from each and every person you see.
In the last week I have seen two amazing posts on breastfeeding on two brilliant blogs Here and Here and it’s so nice to see the honesty, its refreshing, revealing but ultimately relieving, personally I know how hard it is and how much you feel like giving up, dreading that hungry cry because you know it’s going to hurt, sitting in the bath with two great big melons stuck to your chest milk streaming everywhere, being the only one that can sate your childs appetite. Yes, it’s a binding thing but it’s also amazing…noone but you can quench that thirst, you can proudly say that however long you stick in there that you and you alone grew your baby for X weeks / months.  IT IS BEAUTIFUL, and I don’t care what anyone in our over sexed over exposed world says it is natural 100% and rewarding as hell.

So, I could go on writing and writing about this subject because I feel so strongly about it but I won’t because I am bound to get ranty!

If you have a story please share, good or bad, I ♥ breastfeeding stories and only wish more people shared their experiences I think word of mouth and the truth is the only way we can truly understand it and hopefully help more of us choose to at least try it.

7 thoughts on “Painful. (in more ways than one)

  1. I love breastfeeding too. I didn’t get to do it with my eldest because she was premature and we couldn’t nurse directly. so my milk supply dipped tremendously by the 2 month. now that I have another baby, who is 4 months, I just enjoy it so much. recently, my supply dipped and I blamed it on my work. I’m doing all I can to get it back up so I can continue nursing her.

  2. Hi and thanks for the mention in the 52 project! I’m a strong supporter of breast feeding. It’s a shame, however, that many first time mums are sent home from hospital without adequate information on how to do it properly, and then subsequently fail in their attempt. I can’t believe some of the stories that I’ve read recently of women who have been asked to refrain from B/F’ing in public areas. In fact you don’t often see many mothers B/F’ing in public anymore. Shame really. xx

    • Thanks for stopping by. Your right about the public b’feeding and its so sad. I would hide away first time round but this time i didn’t care, i was always discreet but I felt much more comfortable about doing it and standing up to anyone who challenged me.
      And as for advice…pha!!

  3. OOoooh, love this post – I’ve been trying to write about stopping breast feeding for over a month but I’m half unsure how I feel about it and half afraid of what people might say to me for why I stopped!! This post has inspired me. Maybe I’ll finally finish it next week… 😉 xx

  4. You’ve done a great job! I felt that same twinge of sadness with my Patrick, because like you, I knew it was going to be the last. It is hard giving it up, but you have done such a great job and the connection you established with nursing will be there forever. =)

Go on tell me what you're thinking...

