Home » Ramblings » Mummy Wafflings » Happy with what you got

Happy with what you got

I’ve been thinking a lot lately.

I read a lot of h-mazing and inspiring blogs, and you can’t help but aspire to be more like the wonderful women who write them, to envy their style be that homes, fashion or just general ” oh my god their lifestyle is awesome” it’s not different I suppose to people who read magazines and see the images of celebs and the likes and try to be more like them, or live that rockstar lifestyle.
Even though you know deep down its not always as glossy as it looks, you still can’t help it compare and judge yourself.

Stupid, I know. But a whole bunch of us do it, and the more I think about how I’d love the latest nail colour, or see yet another STUNNING Zara dress (they don’t do maternity, so I know damn well it’s a moot point lusting after as by the time I’ve finished growing and bf the new baba, it will be out of style!) Yet still I can’t stop myself from doing it anyway.
And then I thought – why am I doing it to myself?! If I’m being perfectly honest nail varnish never, and I really mean never stays on my nails longer than an hour with out getting chipped, add in the amount of time I wash my hands a day and factor in that I wouldn’t be able too see if I had poop stuck under them from nasty nappy changes…it’s a good thing I don’t use the stuff. I’m talking health and safety risks here people!

And, while I’m at it, I don’t have the disposable income nor lifestyle to need the latest nail colour & Zara dress…or a fancy handbag, it would all just end up covered in some form of bodily fluid (dog or bean) or just isn’t practical for my day to day living.

I haven’t given up on the dress mind you, but I cannot imagine how much I would struggle trying to chase bean in a lovely fighter hugging dress, let alone get my boob out when the baby comes!!
My time will come though, I will be able to have these things that I lust after, it’s just taken me a while to come to terms with it and not that I’ve taken stock and realised how good my life is, I’m pretty damn happy.

So what if I’m skint, there are so many more things than money that I love about my life right now:
Growing our second baby – not a day goes by where I’m not thankful for that. It’s hard for so many to do, I’m one of the lucky ones.
Being happily married. Yes we fight, bicker. Whatever, who doesn’t!? I love him, he loves me and we WORK so well together.
My gorgeous bean, who makes me happier than it should be allowed to be!
My lovely family, they are amazing.

What more do you want?

Go on tell me what you're thinking...

