Home » Food » My New Love

My New Love

Mmmmm Cast Iron Cassarole

So, this is the new love in my life. And without getting too Craig David I bought it on Sunday, cooked in it on Sunday, and again on Monday and then another spin on Tuesday. IT.IS.IMMENSE!!

I’ve always wanted a nice big Cast Iron pot, and my budget doesn’t stretch http://www.amazon.co.uk/Creuset-Cast-Round-Casserole-Volcanic/dp/B0000DINZX/ref=sr_1_8?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1325789031&sr=1-8 but after seeing a thread on www.mumsnet.com about Sainsburys doing one that equalled (if not excelled them) I thoughtI’d take a butchers, and when I dd they were 25% off…so grabbed one!

I ot thge bad boy home and decided that he needed using immediatley, so out came the half a leg of lamb and I came up with this Lamb Pot Roast…

Stud the lamb with garlic that you have crushed with the back of the knife (easier to peel and handy stuffing sized pieces) and some rosemary, I put about 10 holes in total on mine. Seal the joint in a hot pan until its a lovely colour. Stand in your equally lovely cassarole. Rougly chop into about 1 – 1.5″ pieces (diagonally cut if you’re feeling fancy) two carrots, two sticks of celery along with two medium sized sweet potatoes chopped and two small/1 large red onion cut into wedges. Throw these around the lamb in the pot, add 1 bay leaf, a large glass of scrummy wine (save the rest to be guzzled with dinner) and 250 -300ml hot stock, I used half a chicken cube and a heaped teaspoon of Swiss Bouillion base to make mine up. In the oven at about 190 degrees for two hours with the lid on.

I served mine with steamed brocolli as I needed some veggies and I knew the stock & vino would have reduced to a gorgeous thick sauce so I wanted something fresh and uncomplicated to balance it out. (if you’re sauce hasnt reduced how you’d like make a quick roux with water & flour and ladel the sauce in whilst stiring over a heat)

Tomorrow I will post what I did with the leftover lamb…

After. Yum

Before

2 thoughts on “My New Love

Go on tell me what you're thinking...

