Home » Ramblings » Mummy Wafflings » When I grow up…

When I grow up…

Since having my little girl, I can’t help but wonder what kind of girl, young lady and women she will grow up to be.

I was painfully shy as a child and I really don’t want my daughter to be the same. I want her to be happy above all else, and be the kind of Mum to support her in every decision she makes whether I think that its wrong or right.

I love watching her discover new things everyday, the way she studies them so intently trying to figure it out, and promptly shove it in her mouth. The best way to get the gist of something, clearly! You can’t help but look at the world in a new light when you see someone enjoying it for the first time. I’m starting to wonder how on earth I will cope with all the questions when she gets to that age, as I tend to err on the side of being completely blunt so how I’m going to be able to explain something so she understands what the hell Mummy is on about I don’t know, but I’ve got a while to get my head round that – thank god!

I want to inspire her everyday, hope that she’s a creative soul (like her Daddy) loves travel and adventure and animals. I want her to rebel, to question everything and not follow the pack. To discover in every sense of the word not just the World, but new tastes, friendships, languages and skills.  I don’t want her to ever think that something is out of her reach, that she can’t do something or go somewhere (within reason!) or wear something. I want her to know that as a Women nothing is unattainable.

Life is so much more than what is in the glossies. She doesn’t have to wear pink, carry a handbag and want to play dress up. If she wants to that’s fine, but she can play with cars, dress up as a fireman not a nurse if she wants aswell. I refuse to let her be bound & influenced by the stereotypes so strongly evident in the society we live in.

She will be a Rockstar in every sense of the word. Because she already is to me now. And not because I said so, but because we made it possible for her to decide how awesome she wanted to be all by herself 🙂

Go on tell me what you're thinking...

