Home » Me » Working Girl

Working Girl

Why do we (women, sorry for the generalisations but I’m going on experiences here) struggle to be pleased for each other when things are going well?

I went into work for the day last week and was chuffed to find a colleague had been given a new role in the company – a much, much needed organisation type role and she literally could not be more perfect for the position. Finally I thought to myself, thinking everyone would think the same.

Wrong.

She’s rubbing it in my face

She asked for a title, wouldn’t do it without one

Doing my head in talking about it all the time

Jealousy? Bitterness? I don’t know, I was just so dissapoined, especially as I had been in a similar situation a few years back when I was the only women ever on a male dominated firm/industry to get such a decent promotion & perks package…were my other girlie collegues happy for me? Were they fuck.

I knew you were liked, I didn’t realise howmuch

errm, actually I’m just pretty dammed awesome at my job, but thanks for the cynicism muchly appreciated.

And it happens all the time. I want my daughter to grow up and know that she can achieve anything she sets her mind to and that I will be with her and supporting her 110%, but I’m just going to be her Mum.

It’s bad enough that women are still on a different pay scale to men, but when we can’t even support each other how can we really moan about this, we need to believe in each other completely and the and only then will everything else follow.

Go on tell me what you're thinking...

